So far, so good!

My little experiment into vegetarianism has been going pretty well! I managed to eat a variety of things – stir fry made with tofu, vegetarian chilli, spicy black beans & rice. It’s actually been pretty awesome since it gives me the perfect excuse to try out new recipes. And by try out new recipes, I mean, I read the ingredient list and then kind of throw similar things into the mix! I like being creative that way though and so far I’ve yet to make any truly inedible concoctions so I’ll stick to my method (or lack of?) I also avoided eating any meat – though I was tempted as one of my fave lunch meals is grilled cheese with ham. Mmmm, so good!

This week was a little busy. Here’s a quick run-down of the various notable happenings:

Thursday:

This happened:

IMG_5262

Yuck. I guess it IS November though, so it’s going to happen sooner or later! I honestly remember little else from Thursday. Perhaps the shock of snow made me forget?

Friday:

I was so ready to head to campus and go to work since I didn’t have placement at the high school (PA Day for those lucky kids). But then I remembered it was open house day. Ooooh boy. I both love and hate this day. Call me a keener/nerd/whatever but I absolutely love my school and I honestly had a blast talking to prospective students on the March Break open house day earlier this year. But on the flip side, the campus is packed. There is nowhere to sit in my second home (aka the science building) and the Tim Horton’s line becomes unreasonably long. So, yeah, open house day and I have a love/hate relationship.

Saturday:

I babysat on this day and took the little kids to the park. The weather was perfect. It honestly felt like spring and so many other people were out. We checked out two different playgrounds and the petting zoo animals – the turkey is our personal fave since he “talks” to us. The kids find it endlessly amusing that he’ll follow them along the fence. Gotta love them!

Unfortunately on this day, I also got mistaken for a high schooler. Haha… it’s not the first time someone has guessed my age as younger, but come on! I’m 23! I hope this person at least thought I was 17/18 and not 14!

Sunday:

In the morning, I got to be a kid again. I took the kids to this indoor playground place. Imagine the McDonald’s play place, but on crack, so like times five plus a good dose of awesomeness. I don’t know who was more excited: me or the kids! I mean, wouldn’t you be excited, seeing this:

470_257625

But even more gigantic and awesome? (Image from Google since I had no camera to take a picture of the actual playground I was at).

Sunday afternoon was spent doing something far less interesting. There was a little of this:

IMG_5265

Oh, how I love poorly Photoshopped and irrelevant textbook covers!

There was also some of this:

IMG_5266

Oh, they look so thrilling, don’t they? 😛

I got really behind on my reading for my religion class and since we were having a quiz, I figured I should probably catch up on the last 3 weeks worth of reading. Good plan, eh? It was painful though and I might have only understood about half of what I read. My quiz mark pretty much reflected that!

Monday:

I thought this day would never end. I was up early and then off to school to do some work for the lab. I may or may not have had to eat mashed up Teddy Grams mixed with pop for a demonstration about the human body. The things I do for my job! Haha! It was off to class afterwards where we all sat through the class wondering why it smelled like bleach mixed with whiteboard marker smell. Combine that with the fact that it was freezing in the room and I couldn’t get out of there fast enough. I headed home for a lunch of grilled cheese and carrot sticks while I watched Criminal Minds. Then I was back to school again for more work and I didn’t get home until almost 5:30. Whew, what a long day!

Tuesday:

So here we are at today. I had class in the morning which was pretty uneventful. Mostly prep work for our upcoming research project. I now have the difficult task of finding a first year student willing to complete a 10 page questionnaire out of the goodness of their heart. Thankfully I have several fourth years willing to fill it out, but I need to find that one elusive first year that won’t think I’m weird for asking them randomly!

Wish me luck!

Valerie

0 Responses to “So far, so good!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

I'm Valerie, a university student trying to strike a balance between school, my social life and a healthy lifestyle. Over the past year, I've made a lot of positive changes to my life that resulted in losing over 40 pounds! I'm now trying to lead a fully balanced lifestyle and maintain my weight.
November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

