Why wait?

For the past week, I’ve been sick with a cold. It’s been no fun at all especially since I barely had the energy to go to class and do homework, let alone exercise.

But I’m better (about 80%) and I decided I would get a workout in today. As I was sitting at my computer thinking about it, I thought “alright, at 8:00 I’ll hop on the elliptical and watch an episode of Gilmore Girls”. Then I thought, why wait until 8:00? What am I doing now that’s so important?

So I jumped on the elliptical right then (well, after a mad search for my running shorts which were hiding out under my bed) and caught up on some So You Think You Can Dance Canada. I only did 22 minutes – after all, I am still recovering a little from a lovely cough/congestion combo – but the point is this: instead of deciding to do it later (why yes, I AM a procrastinator) I did it right then.

And I felt great afterward. My legs were hating me a little, since it’s been a good two weeks since I did any intense exercise but they’ll show me love tomorrow I’m sure!

I’m trying to love the elliptical a little more. The weather has been anything but lovely as of late and as the temperature drops, running outside is going to become less and less appealing. Plus, I live in Canada. I’m not exactly up for the challenge of running on snowy/icy sidewalks. So basically, I need to find something else to do in the winter to alternate with running on the treadmill. I’m determined not to slack on working out this winter! I think the key is entertaining myself while using the elliptical. I can zone out to music on the treadmill but the elliptical and I have less of a warm, fuzzy feeling toward each other. Tonight, watching some kick butt dancers helped so maybe that’s the answer!

I’ll give it another shot tomorrow and see how it goes!

0 Responses to “Why wait?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Who Am I?

I'm Valerie, a university student trying to strike a balance between school, my social life and a healthy lifestyle. Over the past year, I've made a lot of positive changes to my life that resulted in losing over 40 pounds! I'm now trying to lead a fully balanced lifestyle and maintain my weight.
October 2009
S M T W T F S
    Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

